h1

Looking for techniques to successfully engage CEOs and Executive Directors? Get it here. (Part 1 of my 5 part series)

December 12, 2011

I have had the privilege to successfully consult on change leadership with CEOs and executives in over 60 world-class organizations that include Shell, World Bank, Peace Corps, Marriott, Prudential, American Society of Association Executives and more (see my client list). As a result, my experience has helped me narrow down tips to attract executives of this caliber. Read my series for the lowdown.

Five Steps for Acquiring Executive Clients

Step 1:  Preparing, A Fourfold Foundation

1. Support on the home front
2. Mentoring to accelerate the return on your efforts
3. Participate in a community of peers
4. Cultivate self-compassion

Preparation includes creating amazing results that turn executive heads. To do this, you need to focus on value. Not the process, not the time, nor the outcomes. It’s critical to develop, practice and deliver intellectual firepower that exhibits a public persona of professional interest. Back it up with collaterals which impress and deliver actual value.

Some examples in my line of work include authoring Fast Company’s expert blog, Leading Change; being a contributor to the Washington Post, On Success and the American Express OPEN Forum. I also author a weekly newsletter, Monday Morning Mojo on executive intelligence.

Put your collaterals to good use. It’s your opportunity to impress, deliver and attract leaders.

Tune into my next post for the second step to acquire executive clients. It involves meeting execs.

Leave a comment