h1

DC Event: Acquiring Executive Clients

March 27, 2011

[tweetmeme source= “sethkahan” only_single=false]
Last Friday at Chef Tony’s here in Bethesda, just outside Washington DC, I held the first of what I hope to be many meetings on how to create a successful life as an independent consultant. The topic was, “Acquiring Executive Clients.” Here’s the press release.

I covered my client list which includes 31 executives and a consortium of 70 CEOs. Of the individual execs, 4 are in the private sector, 7 are in the public sector, and 20 are association executives.

I boiled down my personal process to five steps:
1. Preparing
2. Meeting execs
3. Engaging execs
4. Negotiating
5. Relationship development

All the details can be read on the pdf of my presentation.

The next event will also be at Chef Tony’s on Friday, April 29, 12-1:30. There will again be a fixed price lunch. Event to be determined. Mark your calendars!

2 comments

  1. Your presentation Friday was so rich, Seth! I walked away with tons of insights. I so wish I could make it on April 29th… Hey, here’s a great idea: change the date to the 28th! C’mon.


  2. I am going for the last Friday of every month so it will be easy to remember.That makes it easier for people to communicate and bring their friends. Always the same date – Last Friday, 12-1:30 at Chef Tony’s in Bethesda.



Leave a Reply

