h1

Lower Your Labor Intensity

March 19, 2011

[tweetmeme source= “sethkahan” only_single=false]
Don’t ever stop. It’s an endless quest. Make it part of your DNA. Figure out how to shave minutes, hours, days off of your work. It’s the only way to increase your income beyond accepted norms and free up time for you to enjoy for yourself and your loved ones.

I was talking to a client recently who told me she was an expert at doing interviews. She does a 100 or so every month and she is a master. “How long does an interview take you?” I asked. She replied, 45 minutes to an hour – I have it down. “If you are the master, then surely you could find a way to get it down to 15-30 minutes? Use your expertise and experience. Be merciless. Do it and you’ll save 50 hours per month. This is a serious return on your effort.” Oh no, she said, these have to take this long.

All this without even giving it a shot. One has to wonder. People always ask me how I get so much done. I have focused on lowering my labor intensity relentlessly. And I’m not stopping now. Go for it, and enjoy a stroll in the park, time with your spouse, a fine cigar, a drive in the country, a glass of wine, or whatever else you consider the finer things in life. That’s the gold at the end of this rainbow.

Leave a Reply

