h1

Equipment I Use for Podcasting

April 7, 2010

My monthly statistics have gone up considerably since undertaking my audio interview effort. This is due in no small measure to the regular readers I am attracting as a result of posting these great conversations.

Here is the equipment I use to conduct these interviews from my office at home:

  1. 1. A Princess phone (be prepared to take major flack if anyone finds out) because this old, cheap model has a better quality microphone and is corded providing higher quality transmission than most cordless phones.
  2. 2. The Radio Shack telephone converter to intercept the line. I had to pick up a 1/4″ jack for the Radio Shack thing ($5) so I can plug directly into my…
  3. 3. ZOOM H4 digital recorder – this is an older model. The H2 is the current one available. By the way, this is excellent for catching jam sessions, which is why I bought it. The beautiful Laura Baron often has musicians over to our home and sometimes I catch them in the midst of something incredible with no time to set up anything fancy. You can just turn the ZOOM on and set it in the middle of the floor and it does a great job.
  4. 4. Audacity Mac freeware to edit – it’s easy to learn and simple to use.

One comment

  1. Seth, you can consider Mike Stewart (The Internet Audio Guy) to advise and purchase equipment. He gave me very valuable advice, and I have heard great testimonials from other phone interviewers.

    Wayne



Leave a Reply

