h1

Mastering Time Management

January 6, 2010

Time is one resource we are all allocated equally. Yet, some people do amazing things with their lives while others struggle to get the laundry done. Become exceptional at how you manage your time – it’s imperative.

This does not mean that you need to be rigorously scheduled. It means you need to find techniques that work for you to get the things done which you consider most important.

Here are my non-negotiables:

  1. My spiritual pursuits
  2. My physical health
  3. Quality time with my wife and son, together and individually
  4. Quality time with my dog
  5. Time to increase my efficacy as a professional
  6. Time with extended family and friends
  7. Downtime
  8. Time to excel at my vocation

To live a life where I can consistently hit the bar in every one of these areas, I collect every technique and method that works in the area of time management. Why should you be any different. Here are six techniques I use:

  1. I set time aside to write weekly – every Sunday for example, I write all the week’s posts for several of my blogs.
  2. I get up early every morning before the rest of my family to stretch, exercise, and meditate
  3. I put time aside evenings, weekends, and vacations to spend with my family.
  4. I practice doing more with less at work every chance I get. My goal: provide more value in less time.
  5. I keep small tablets around the house to write down insights, ideas, and goals whenever they pop to mind.
  6. I keep a to-do list on my computer so I don’t have to keep it in my head

There are many more techniques. These are ones that work for me. What works for you? Find them, keep them, and excel at them.

Leave a Reply

