h1

Writing, Speaking, and Outreach, Oh My!

December 21, 2009

If you’re self-employed, you need to become excellent at writing, speaking, and outreach. If your goals are to increase your business, raise your fees, establish a strong pipeline, and have plenty of time left over for your personal pursuits, these are not optional.

People are always asking me how I write as much as I do: 11-12 blog posts per week, 2 newsletters per month, articles, and a book. It’s simple, really. It all stems from two very important actions:

  1. I made a personal commitment to master writing.
  2. I schedule writing times and mostly stick to them.
    After I received my book contract, I scheduled 90 minutes every morning, 5 days per week. 4 out of 5 days I delivered. In 2 1/2 months, the book was done. I do most of the writing of these blogs on Sunday night. I put out a week’s worth of posts in about 2 hours (10 posts). Most Sundays I get it done, but a week comes up here and there when I have to find other time. Then, in addition, whenever the spirit moves me, I add a post. Before long, I am more than a week ahead.

My mentor, Alan Weiss, often says to me, “Success, not perfection.” I take him at his word. Not every blog post is perfect. Sometimes I have to rewrite them when I see what goes live. That’s okay. The point is to get something out there that will do others good. That’s enough. If I have to rewrite occasionally, I’m good with that.

Tomorrow I’ll talk a little about speaking and how to make it a regular part of your life.

It’s all about outreach, communicating your ideas to others, expressing your value. There’s nothing like putting something in writing to make it concrete, actionable, and useful.

Leave a Reply

