h1

Read Your Blog Stats!

December 3, 2009

My blog provider, WordPress, provides easy-to-read statistics on which blog posts are read and which are not. I have been in this business long enough to say, yours does, too.  Every e-provider I have used over the last seven years, and that is many, provides stats in one form or another. And you can learn a great deal from them to use for your success.

My first website, SethKahan.com, was hosted by a great provider, Lexiconn.com.  They’re still around, and if they meet your needs, I recommend them. Their customer service is some of the best I have had.  Using their statistics I found out that month-after-month, year-after-year, two searches consistently drove people to my website: Seth Kahan (obviously these people had already heard of me), and Visionary Leadership.

This latter because I had written the article titled, Visionary Leadership, which quickly became the #1 interest on my website.  Watching this phenomenon over the years I decided to purchase VisionaryLeadership.com which I hold to this day, and adopted the moniker as one of my brands.

Below, you will see my blog stats for this blog, FreelanceFortune.com, over the first 30 days of its operation. It is immediately clear that something special happened on November 11 – I sent out a newsletter to 800 people with links to all my blog posts. Further, you can see there were almost no visitations on the 15th of that month compared to over 40 the following day. The blog post on the 16th was and remains popular today – good to know!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below you can see my blog posts ranked by number of visits, with most visited on top. Interesting for me to note, which topics and titles bring in the readers, with 4 Tips for a High Impact Value Proposal and Create Tools not Brochures receiving more than double the attention of others. All helpful information, broadening my understanding of my audience’s interest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The blog is young, so it’s too early to tell where it’s going. And there is a danger in becoming too responsive. After all, I am the expert. I don’t want to pander to my readers.  Yet, at the same time, the more blog posts I have, the greater the number of data points, and the emerging trends give me a good idea of what attracts people to my writing.

One comment

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Seth Kahan, John Felkins. John Felkins said: RT @SethKahan: Read Your Blog Stats! http://bit.ly/6QIWRL […]



Leave a Reply

