h1

Control Your Time

November 19, 2009

My main motivation for leaving my job at the World Bank in 2002 was fourfold: I wanted to (i) be in charge of my professional development, (ii) have all kinds of learning experiences, (iii) make more money, and (iv) have more time with my family. How was I going to do the last if I didn’t get the my time under control?

I have dedicated myself to leveraging my time so that I can do more with less. In addition to freeing me up to spend more time listening to my wife’s music (Listen to Laura Baron’s latest award-winning album here!) and playing with my son, it allows me to provide greater value to my clients and enjoy life more – that’s a lot of great results from one activity!

Here are three techniques for getting the upper hand with your 24 hours a day:

1. Carry something you can do while you are waiting. I always have a book and a pad with me.

2. Know the three things you must get done today, day after day. Prioritize for high performance.

3. Remember you have just as much time as the president – look at how much he gets done. You can do what you have in front of you, and you can do it in ways that get good results. If you feel cramped, ask what you can let go of.

4. (Ok, we’re onto the extra tip here) Get some support. Hire a mentor. Ask others to do their fare share. Seek out tools that make your life easier.

Leave a Reply

